SCION PRESENTS “THE BIG IDEA.”
An artistic vision on how to achieve it or its sine qua non representation.

Curated By Monsieur L’Agent (Paris, France) monsieurlagent.com/
EVENT IS FREE WITH RSVP at: scionav.com/space

June 25th – July 16th, 2011

Opening Reception June 25th, 2011, 7-10 p.m.

Scion presents the ‘‘The Big Idea’’ curated by the Paris-based creative agency Monsieur L’Agent. With a roster of art directors, illustrators and graphic designers, Monsieur L’Agent has forged a reputation for delivering innovative graphic solutions to a range of projects and briefs. For this, their first official group show, all the participating artists were given the same brief: Design a billboard that illustrates your interpretation of “The Big Idea” - the term coined by George Lois - one of the advertising world’s great art-directors.

"The search for The Big Idea: to solve a specific communications problem with words and images that catch people's eyes, penetrate their minds, warm their hearts, and cause them to act… the passionate belief that creativity can solve almost any problem - The Big Idea, the defeat of habit by originality, overcomes everything. Great graphic communication depends on understanding and adapting to the culture, anticipating the culture, criticizing changes in the culture, and sometimes helping to change the culture….” – George Lois

This exhibition can be seen as an homage to Lois' talent in visual communication, a way to evoke the world of advertising in a subtle and more artistic manner than the simple promotion of a product.

FEATURING:

Anamorphée (France) anamorphee.com/
Andy Rementer (USA) andyrementer.com/
Check Morris (France) checkmorris.com/
//DIY (Switzerland) diy.li/
Douglas Lee (USA) douglaslee.org/
Emily Forgot (UK) emilyforgot.co.uk/
Honet (France) aventuresextraordinaires.fr/
Ill-Studio (France) ill-studio.com/
La Boca (UK) laboca.co.uk/
Leslie David (France) leslie-david.com/
Mario Hugo (USA) mariohugo.com/
Mathias Schweizer (France) weizer.ch/
Sanghon Kim (France) monsieurlagent.com/2-artists/11-sanghon-kim/
So-Me (France) so-me.coolcats.fr/

Opening Night: Saturday, June 25, 2011, 7–10 PM
EVENT IS FREE WITH RSVP at: scionav.com/space

Artists will be in attendance. Free Valet and Open Bar.

Scion Installation LA
3521 Helms Ave (at National)
Culver City, CA 90232
scionav.com/space

--

Music: Knoxville Girls - Kung Pow Chicken Scratch

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…