Just because we are all caught in the world wide web, doesn’t mean we’re all connected. For actress-filmmaker Miranda July, THE FUTURE (thefuturethefuture.com/) is now, both in regards to the release of her stunning second feature — a deftly ironic mesh of magical realism and near-Mumblecore malaise — and in regards to our ability to all just get along. Is there something inherently asocial about technology or is the bug in the system simply our own fears of intimacy? With greater access to the global village will we become more considerate of the communities around us or squirrel ourselves more securely into our social media caves? The august Ms. July visits The High Bar to raise a toast to and raise the bar for… Connectivity. Cheers!

Shot on location at The Chapel Bar in Seattle, WA (thanks to Patrick Cyr)

Special thanks to Roadside Attractions and Leah Bledsoe at Allied Integrated Marketing

Gift bag contributors:

Bakon Vodka (bakonvodka.com/)
Cupcake Royale (cupcakeroyale.com/)
Dipti's Chai Tea Masala (naturallynirvana.com/)
The Gifted Vine Wine Company (giftedvine.com/)
Lather Unusual (latherunusual.com/)
Seattle Sorbets (seattle-sorbets.com/)
Sin In Linen (sininlinen.com/)
Sip & Ship (sipandship.com/)
Skydottir Epic Cookies (skydottir.com/)
TabbyCat Pickling Co. ()
Theo Chocolate (theochocolate.com/)

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…