The digital settles in as background. We remember less and query more. Our identity play would be considered schizophrenic in the last century. We have more friends than ever before yet know new frontiers of isolation. The quantification of our experience haunts us in the form of a persistent history. And we are distracted more than we ever knew possible. These circumstances are paradoxically a description of the near future and a diagnosis of the current state of affairs. The truly timeless is redefined – it has transcended that which is classic; it has become that which is never finished.

Timeless
a video essay / design fiction by KS12

Directed and Edited by Gabriel Shalom
Designed by Patrizia Kommerell
Produced by KS12
Producer: Karen Cifarelli
Commissioned by MU, Eindhoven mu.nl
Curated by Angelique Spaninks
Production Assistant: Rob Versteeg ropski.nl

Interviews
(in order of appearance)

Bernhard Herrmann herrmann-lehrmittel.de
Rafaël Rozendaal newrafael.com
Bruce Sterling en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Sterling
Peter Kirn pkirn.com
Jorien Kemerink foodlabeindhoven.com
Markus Kayser markuskayser.com
Elske van der Putten heyheyhey.nl
Vivian van Gaal strp.nl
Toby Barnes about.me/tobybarnes
Mary Flanagan maryflanagan.com

Ghost Box

Concept and Design: KS12
Electronics: Philip Steffan bausteln.de
Manufacture: Günter Herrmann Lehrmittelfabrik herrmann-lehrmittel.de
3D Prototype Modeling: Mendel Heit mendelheit.com
Fabrication Consultant: Fons Schiedon fonsschiedon.com

STRP Artworks

E‪dwin van der Heide‬ DSLE -2- (2011) ‪evdh.net
Marnix de Nijs Exploded Views 2.0 (2011) marnixdenijs.nl
Telcosystems 12_series (2010) telcosystems.net
Digitale Werkplaats Bristlebots (2011) nerdlab.nl
Bart Hess Liquified (2011) barthess.nl
Fourcelabs Dance Engine (2011) fourcelabs.com

Music

Excerpt from “sketch_111229” by stra.
© 2011 Shingo Inao soundcloud.com/stra-1

“Anaxagoras” and “MeeBlip Landscape” by Peter Kirn
© 2011 Peter Kirn soundcloud.com/peterkirn

“Melted Rubber Soul” by Campfires
© 2011 Jeff Walls campfires.bandcamp.com

Special Thanks
Bernhard Herrmann
Helmut Seefeld

Shot on location in Eindhoven, NL during the STRP Festival 2011 strp.nl and in Hofgeismar, Germany at the Günter Herrmann Lehrmittelfabrik herrmann-lehrmittel.de

#timeless
ks12.net

© 2012 KS12

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…