SNAPPER ROCKS, Queensland/Australia (Sunday, 26 February, 2012) – The Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Land Rover, the opening stop on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, was back on today with the elimination Round 2 completed in clean three-to-four foot (1 metre) conditions at Snapper Rocks.

Jordy Smith (ZAF), 24, came flying out of the gates in his this afternoon, scoring an 8.33 (out of a possible 10) and a 9.10 on his opening two waves. Smith surfed smooth and fast to eliminate veteran powerbroker Taylor Knox (USA), 40.

Joel Parkinson (AUS), 30, 2011 ASP World Runner-Up, was back to winning form today after a shock Round 1 loss at his home break yesterday. Parkinson eliminated trials' winner and runner-up to the 2011 ASP World Junior Title Garrett Parkes (AUS), 20, in a one-sided affair.

Taj Burrow (AUS), 33, and Dane Reynolds (USA), 26, had the Sunday Snapper crowd on their feet in their epic Round 2 clash this morning. Both surfers unleashed big aerials and monster carves, but it was Burrow who was able to find the lengthier waves and link his turns together to advance to Round 3.

Yadin Nicol (AUS), 26, 2012 ASP Top 34 rookie, won his first ASP World Championship Tour heat at the Quiksilver Pro today over highly-touted fellow rookie Gabriel Medina (BRA), 18. Nicol qualified for the elite ASP World Championship Tour during last year's mid-year rotation (as did Medina), but was forced to give up his spot due to an ankle injury

Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, snuck through a tight heat against Jadson Andre (BRA), 21. Flores and Andre both pulled into multiple tubes but failed to find exits, until Flores threaded a classic behind-the-rock barrel to score an 8.17 (out of a possible 10) and take the win.

Kolohe Andino (USA), 17, battled fellow Californian Brett Simpson (USA), 27, in the final heat of the day, with young Andino taking a first win in his highly-anticipated ASP World Championship Tour debut. Andino showed rookie nerves, falling and catching the wrong waves at the start, but managed to pull it together and lock in some impressive scores in the back half of the heat.

Event organisers will reconvene at 6:30am to access conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

For more information, log onto


HEAT 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.36 def. Garrett Parkes (AUS) 6.43

HEAT 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) 18.10 def. Dane Reynolds (USA) 16.06

HEAT 3: Yadin Nicol (AUS) 13.13 def. Gabriel Medina (BRA) 12.53

HEAT 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 14.06 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 13.73

HEAT 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.43 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 12.33

HEAT 6: Travis Logie (ZAF) 15.30 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 13.03

HEAT 7: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.60 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 10.53

HEAT 8: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 15.86 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 10.33

HEAT 9: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.67 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.07

HEAT 10: Kieren Perrow (AUS) 14.00 def. CJ Hobgood (USA) 13.84

HEAT 11: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 13.53 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 10.73

HEAT 12: Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.33 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 13.87


HEAT 1: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

HEAT 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

HEAT 3: Adriano De Souza (BRA) vs. Kolohe Andino (USA)

HEAT 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)

HEAT 5: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)

HEAT 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

HEAT 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Yadin Nicol (AUS)

HEAT 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

HEAT 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Raoni Monterio (BRA)

HEAT 10: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)

HEAT 11: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)

HEAT 12: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Travis Logie (AUS)

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…