The Oklahoma name change for an adult as descibed in State law Statute 12-33-1631 is done by filing a petition to the county's civil court where you are a resident. It is easier, if you were just married, to have your certified marriage license with the raised seal or if you were recently divorced to have your divorce decree. Typically, you will not have a court hearing in Oklahoma but it depends on the circumstances of the name change.
CLICK HERE FOR REQUIRED FORMS & INSTRUCTIONS
Must be a resident for at least 6 months
If just married, must have your original marriage certificate.
If just divorced, must have your divorce decree.
Step 1 - Fill-Out the Oklahoma Name Change Petition. The petition must be notarized.
Step 2 - Make 2 copies.
Step 3 - File the Petition to the County Court Clerk's office in the County where your live. Pay the $159.00 filing fee and you will be given a case number.
Step 4 - After filing your petition you will need to go to a newspaper that serves where you reside and place an ad to make your name change public notice. After successful publication, you will be granted a 'Notice of Publication'. This is the official form that states you published your new name in the newspaper.
Step 5 - You may be assigned a court hearing date or be notified by the court that your name change decree is ready. This will be the official form you will need to change your name at the DMV, Social Security Office, and any other institution.
Loading more stuff…
Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?