Why is Portland an interesting place to create a startup?
How can we understand entrepreneurs and software engineers to be a new creative class?
What roles do story and performance play in the creation of an enterprise?

Following the true story of a group of aspiring startups in the Portland Incubator Experiment (PIE), in the context of Portland’s creative and technology ecosystem, KS12 presents Early Stage, a Video Sprint in collaboration with PIE which starts a conversation on these topics and invites your participation.

A Video Sprint videosprint.net produced by KS12 ks12.net
Produced during the 2012 class of the Portland Incubator Experiment piepdx.com at Wieden + Kennedy wk.com/incubator

Featuring the 2012 PIE companies:

Marshall Kirkpatrick, CEO, Little Bird getlittlebird.com
Michelle Rowley, Founder, Code Scouts codescouts.org
Gabriel Shalom, Creative Director, KS12 ks12.net
Trent Peterson, Founder, App Thwack appthwack.com
Aaron Raddon, CTO, Lytics lytics.io
Kyle Banuelos, CEO, Stublisher stublisher.com

Including interviews with:

Andy Baio, Organizer, XOXO Festival xoxofest.com
Barb Stark, Director of Culture, Cloudability cloudability.com
Michael Richardson, Co-founder & Technical Product Manager, Urban Airship urbanairship.com
Renny Gleeson, Global Director of Interactive Strategies, Wieden + Kennedy wk.com
Amber Case, Co-Founder & CEO, Geoloqi geoloqi.com
David Embree, CEO, Athletepath athletepath.com
Robin Jones, COO, Geoloqi geoloqi.com
Brad Feld, Co-Founder & Managing Director, Foundry Group (via Skype) foundrygroup.com
John Jay, Global Executive Creative Director, Wieden + Kennedy wk.com
Dave Yewman, President, Elevator Speech elevatorspeech.com

Directed and edited by Gabriel Shalom
Designed and produced by Patrizia Kommerell
Production Assistant: Kris Cantrell cargocollective.com/kriscantrell
Second Camera: Jason Roark, Don't Act Big
Music "Lamplighter" and "Acre Lux" by Campfires, © 2012 Jeff Walls campfiresmusic.com

CC 2012 BY-NC KS12

See the full Demo Day pitches:

Little Bird – youtu.be/nMEszxmY1mQ
Code Scouts – youtu.be/Pz3ZUOeHz3E
KS12 – youtu.be/MN5lfsiix0I
App Thwack – youtu.be/pJblzg1iB7M
Lytics – youtu.be/aSWkrMt8QV8
Stublisher – youtu.be/9H7icwS79Cg

continue the conversation:
Twitter: #earlystage
Quora: quora.earlystage.videosprint.net
earlystage.videosprint.net

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…