Alan Blackman's "The Coastal Suite" as performed on October 24, 2012 at The Atlas Theatre in Washington, DC. Made possible by a grant from Chamber Music America & The Doris Duke Foundation.

Inspired by a vacation to the Pacific Northwest Coast, the work is a programmatic suite which contains seven composed ensemble movements, joined by five freely improvised solo spaces. When woven together they tell the musical story of a 24 hour tidal cycle.

Alan Blackman - composer, piano
Max Murray - Bass
Frank Russo - Drums
Donny McCaslin - Saxophones
Rogerio Boccato - Percussion

Paintings by Ruth Bownlee

For preview only - audio is live from video camera mic.
All Rights Reserved

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…