Peter Lefferts built this Dutch Colonial farmhouse around 1783. It was originally located on Flatbush Avenue, but it was moved to Prospect Park in 1918 to save it from demolition. Designated as a City Landmark in 1966, it is now a museum specializing in children's educational programs.
Visitors to the Lefferts House have the opportunity to experience 18th century farming life from the Village of Flatbush. Families also participate in games, craft activities such as candle making, sewing, butter churning, and making fire with flint and steel. Special weekend programs and seasonal festivals are also offered. All of this for only a $3 suggested donation. During the summer they are open Thursdays through Sundays 12-5pm (until 6pm in July and August).
Lefferts Historic House is located at the Children's Corner of Prospect Park, inside the Willink entrance (intersection of Ocean and Flatbush Avenues and Empire Boulevard). prospectpark.org/lefferts
Lefferts Historic House is owned by the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation, operated by the Prospect Park Alliance, and is a member of the Historic House Trust.
Loading more stuff…
Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?