The Australia Council for the Arts celebrates the achievements of three outstanding artists with the announcement of the 2013 Australia Council Community Arts and Cultural Development Awards.

The Kirk Robson Award presented to Sarah Emery recognises outstanding leadership from a young person working in community arts and cultural development, particularly in the areas of reconciliation and social justice and commemorates the life and transformational work of Kirk Robson.

The Community Partnerships Fellowship (reintroduced in 2013) is awarded to Lenine Bourke. The award acknowledges outstanding artistic achievement over the artists career. The Fellowship recipient is supported to undertake a two-year program of further creative or professional development.

The Ros Bower Award presented to Paula Abood. The award recognises an artist with a proven record of high achievement in community arts and cultural development. The award also acknowledges effort in fostering and furthering the philosophies and principles of equality, respect, and diversity espoused by Rosalie Bower, founding director of the Australia Council Community Arts Board.

Original soundtrack recorded live at the Australia Council for the Arts, with permission from Anbessa Gebrehiwot and Sinit Tsegay

An Australia Council for the Arts Initiative.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…