Sam Sullivan's division, 'Hank's Blazers', win the 2013 Drew League Playoffs Championship game.

Alvin Wills established the Drew League in 1973 with 6 teams. Wills believed this league could be a place for young men and women of South Central Los Angeles to learn life lessons through basketball.

The Drew League’s goal was to help young people form meaningful relationships on the court that would spill over into the neighborhood, as well as build an institution that would bring top local high school, college, and pro players back to the community.

As a long time friend and mentor to Dino Smiley, in 1985 Wills decided it was time to let Smiley have a shot at directing the league. By 1985 the league had grown from the original 6 teams to 10 teams. Today the league matches up 28 “invitation-only” teams to battle it out on the hardwood.

Forty years ago, no one would have predicted that the gym at Charles Drew Junior High School on the corner of Compton and Firestone would play host to Southern California’s toughest competition, attracting streetball legends, collegiate athletes, and several NBA stars.

Sponsored by: Red Bull

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…