Under the name, Trans-Computational Membranes, the Architectural Association
Visiting School Madrid challenges the conception of flexibility within the context of
spatial re-adaptation.

During the 2013 School, new computational methods were utilised to rethink
membrane structures from the micro to macro, resulting in a plethora of habitable
prototypes. Students were involved in a continuous dialogue between analog and
digital experimentation, where material processes and fabrication techniques are
incorporated within a digital working methodology, analysing material behaviour
from nano-scale patterns to the production of physical 1-to-1 scale prototypes.
Generative design workshops took place throughout the programme, aiming at
digital fabrication of textile structures though the use of physical simulations.

Parallel to their research development, students collaborated in the fabrication of a
full scale membrane-based pavilion which investigated reconfiguration as a response
to rapid fluctuations to todays specific needs.
A lecture series was developed in parallel to the studio-based research. Renowned
speakers addressed topics relating to dynamic architectural models, adaptive
systems and patterning experimentation for spatial deployment.

The event was developed in coordination with Universidad Europea and was
hosted in the Official College of Architects (COAM) which sponsored the
programme together with Actíu, Philips, Volumaniac and the British Embassy Madrid.

AAVS MADRID DIRECTOR: Manuel Jiménez García.
LOCAL COORDINATOR: Jose Luis E. Penelas.
FACULTY: Roberto García Vélez, María Olmos Zúnica, Antonio Guijarro, Vicente Soler.
GUEST CRITICS, AND LECTURERS: Carles Salas, Soledad Berbegal, Izaskun Chinchilla, José Ballesteros, Andrés Perea,
Nuria Alvarez Lombardero, José Maria Capellán, Nestor Montenegro, Angel Alonso, Sara Gemma Sabate, Pedro Pablo
Arroyo, Stephen Foley, Beatriz Matos.
STUDENTS: Alejandro Martínez de Velasco, Maria Cristina Rodrigo Salazar, Aly Magdy Mohamed Fouad, Maciá
Jorge Cerdá Inglés, Maria Olmeda Franco, Miguel Angel Jiménez García, Álvaro López Rodríguez, Ignacio Viguera Ochoa,
Jose Real Cambas, Jesús Jordi Velasco Mancho, Vicente Sánchez Seoane, Luis Benito Alonso, Kawtar Sayegrih, Maria
Andrea Diaz Usme, Ralph Gebara, Thaïs Salas, Rojda Can, Jie Chen.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…