This 30 minute video documents the live experience of "Persistence of Memory", music composed by Joan La Barbara, performed by Ne(x)tworks, with experimental film by Aleksandar Kostic. This event was part of the opening night of MaerzMusik Festival 2012 in Berlin, Germany celebrating the 100th anniversary of John Cage's birth. The concert took place at Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

Joan La Barbara presented Aleksandar Kostic with the idea, based on chance procedures ( inspired by the collaboration process of composer John Cage and choreographer Merce Cunningham ) to create an event in which the video and music would be produced separately and played and projected simultaneously for the first time on opening night in Berlin. The only rules that Joan and Aleksandar set before collaborating on this project were that the film and music should each have a duration of 30 minutes, and that Aleksandar would not even hear Joan's music until the opening night in Berlin. Joan suggested that the film should have "jagged material", no linear story line, and visual silence of black screen.

During 3 months of production of the film, Kostic used the title, "Persistence of Memory" as story line, wanting to create an experimental film that would remind viewers that we are all just a small part of a vast universe.

In creating "Persistence of Memory", La Barbara reflected on certain tenets of John Cage's ideas, the juxtaposition of musical phrases with "noise", that "all sound should be considered music", and the punctuation and power of sudden silences. To these ideas, she added her affinity for violent weather, including sequences of sonically-produced thunderstorms, avalanche, tornado, tree branches cracking, car crashes, and splintering glass using samples combined with instrumental sounds.

"Persistence of Memory" was premiered in Berlin, Germany on the opening night of MaerzMusic Festival 17. March 2012 "Cage and Consequences", celebrating the 100th anniversary of John Cage's birth, as part of the live performance by Joan La Barbara and Ne(x)tworks.

DVD full version of the film "Persistence of Memory" is available here :

Credits :
"Persistence of Memory"

Film producing, directing, cinematography and editing by Aleksandar Kostic

Visual Effects of Space
Jovan Nedeljkovic

Music Composed by Joan La Barbara, composer and publisher member ASCAP
©2012 Joan La Barbara

Music Performed by Ne(x)tworks:

Joan La Barbara (voice)
Stephen Gosling (piano)
Shelley Burgon (harp & laptop)
Yves Dharamraj (cello)
Miguel Frasconi (glass, flute & laptop)
Ariana Kim (violin)
Christopher McIntyre (trombone)

Video Documentary Filmmaker
Susanne Elgeti

Sound Direction:
Martin Supper

Assistant Sound Direction:
Thoma Koch

Video produced by Kostic Films LLC in association with MaerzMusik/Berliner Festspiele 2012

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…