Austin Museum of Digital Art

14 teams of Austin based studios and freelancers participated in a 48 hour animation challenge in the spirit of an Exquisite Corpse presented by the Austin Motion Artists Group, Moontower VFX, Houndstooth Studio, and The Octopus Project.

On January 17th, 2014, each team received a specifically designed start frame, an end frame, an 11 second 4 bar phrase of the chosen Octopus Project song and a guiding theme "The Ecstatic Energy of Geometry."

2 days later, everybody converged on Moontower VFX to assemble their segments into a seamless 3 minute music video, drink beer, and revel in the bliss of their collaborative creation. There was also a pool table.

Credits:

Presented by: Austin Motion Artists Group, Moontower VFX, Houndstooth Studio, and The Octopus Project

Produced by: Travis Benn and Ryan Padgett

Hosted by: Moontower VFX

Keyframe Design by: The Octopus Project and Houndstooth Studio

"MMKIT"
Written and Performed by The Octopus Project
Peek-A-Boo Records

Animation:

0:06 - 0:18 Diego Hernandez - Cuyá Productions cuyaproductions.com/
0:18 - 0:30 Greg Omelchuck - Moontower VFX moontowervfx.com/
0:30 - 0:41 Chris Beaver - Powerhouse Animation powerhouseanimation.com/
Willis Bulliner
Ryan Cullen
Louie Granda
0:41 - 0:53 Travis Benn - Houndstooth Studio houndstoothstudio.com/
0:53 - 1:05 Geoff Marslett - Swerve Pictures swervepictures.com/
1:05 - 1:17 Dustin Scott - Great Job LLC greatjob.tv
Michael Ricks mricks.com
1:17 - 1:29 Jacob Hilton foliohilton.com
Thomas Thorne systmh.blogspot.com/
1:29 - 1:41 Wiley Wiggins wileywiggins.com/
1:41 - 1:52 Scott Gelber stateofeternity.com/
1:52 - 2:04 Nick Walker - Zoticus Design zoticusdesign.com/
2:04 - 2:16 Adam Garner - Trigger Studios trigger-studios.com/
2:16 - 2:28 Ryan Padgett - Chaotic Moon Studios chaoticmoon.com/ duale.tv/
Brad Dugdale audiobrad.com/
2:28 - 2:40 Ray Pena - Moontower VFX moontowervfx.com/
2:40 - 2:52 Toto Miranda - The Octopus Project theoctopusproject.com/
Josh Lambert

austinchronicle.com/screens/2014-01-17/introducing-the-octopus-projects-exquisite-corpse/

# vimeo.com/84811168 Uploaded 138K Plays / / 20 Comments Watch in Couch Mode

Follow

Austin Museum of Digital Art

Mac&Cheez Plus

This channel showcases the best in digital animation (both narrative and experimental), computer-based installation art, electronic music videos and live performance clips, as well as BTS documentaries about digital artists and their respective processes available on vimeo. Some of the artists included here have even been featured in our Digital Showcase, Screening, and Performance Series events in Austin, TX.

Browse This Channel

Shout Box

Channels are a simple, beautiful way to showcase and watch videos. Browse more Channels. Channels