RyGa

RyGa

Hi, I am interested in shooting video, but I have no experience, because I never had a camera.

For a beginner with a $400 budget, what camera would you recommend? I'm interested in making shorts, and basically learn the ins and outs. Would I need a camera with changeable lenses at this point?

Also any advice is greatly appreciated.

Perrone Ford

Perrone Ford

I am unaware of any cameras with interchangeable lenses until you more than double your budget. So that's probably not a consideration here.

Though it may seem an odd question, what computer do you plan to use for holding, editing, and preparing the video from your purchased camera?

RyGa

RyGa

I have an ASUS G50vt laptop.

Perrone Ford

Perrone Ford

Alright,

Given your computer, I would suggest you try to find a used minDV camera to begin with. This will keep costs low and won't overtax your computer. Do you have issues with purchasing a used camera?

Are you planning on purchasing the other equipment that generally goes with doing decent video? A tripod, a decent microphone, some editing software, etc.?

matt wolfe [cc]

matt wolfe [cc] Plus

Perrone's advice is pretty solid, RyGa. Here's another thought. Depending on what extent you are wanting to go with. My office just bought a GoPro Hero. For three hundred USD we got an underwater casing and a mount to attach it to cars.

Is the video quality the greatest? It's okay. (My latest video was shot with the GoPro Hero.) The sound quality is terrible, but you can do some cool things with it. It's fun video footage to edit around in. I mean, it's a niche camera, much like a Flip Mino or any of those in that category.

You have no control over anything, you just hit the record button. But sometimes that's all you need to start with. (Oh, and it's terrible in lowlight situations, but you get what you pay for.)

RyGa

RyGa

Watched your video, looks great. Was that the regular GoPro Hero or the HD HERO?