madbeardo

madbeardo

Hello, I am new to a video world. However, I am keen on learning and this process is not possible anymore without a decent video DSLR or a camcorder. I was reading tones of paragraphs with billions of letters with kind of descriptive meaning. I found out many facts about Canon HF G10, a new 2013 model HF G25(UK). I checked Pannys HC-X900M and HC-x920. I even was thinking to buy Sonys HDR-CX760E. I compared specifications many many times. There were a lot of different things i liked and there were only few of which I didn't. What if we put a new competitor? Value for money? 650D. Is it comparable?

I like shooting everything in any conditions, and yeah I would like shoot slow mo.

My problem: I can not judge this case fair.
Here is the end.
With regards to all you people, Lukas

roar

roar

Hello Lukas,

basically you're comparing point-and-shoot (with some manual controls) camcorders and a DSLR. IMHO camcorders are easier to learn and they give you more room to improve your skills. DSLRs generally gives you a better quality result (or maybe more "cinematic") and they are more flexible (for istance shooting in low light) once you know how to handle them (and that will take time).

However I think other people of the Vimeo community could help you better than me guiding your choice, but I can tell you two sure things:
- if you want slow motions you'll need something which shoots at a higher frame rate and in the market sector you pointed out it means you have to find something shooting at 50p (if you're in PAL-land or 60p if you're in NTSC-land)
- check if your computer can handle video-making

Bye,

Luca

madbeardo

madbeardo

Hello Luca, thanks for a reply!