Soxiam

Soxiam Staff

we're considering few options right now in regards to HD embed settings.

David Nett

David Nett Plus

I'm a relative newbie to Vimeo, but I love the service (I even got a "Plus" membership -- paying for services = love). Everything from the upload tool to the embed controls to vieo quality is far superior, in my estimation, to other services. I have but one humble request:

Could you create a way to control the default HD embed setting? That is, if I embed HD video on my site, I'd like to make certain that the default HD setting for a user is set to "HD off."

You see, I wanna make my HD versions available to my viewers, but, since HD does hog the ol' bandwidth, and I am limited in HD impressions, I'd like users to explicitly ask (or click) for HD content. By default, if a user just hits "play," I want the SD version to play.

I've had several of my viewers comment that video loads very slowly or stutters -- it's just 'cause HD is on by default and they are used to smaller, quicker (lower quality) streams. If SD were on by default, those folks would be happy, and savvy users who want the richer (but slower) experience could explicitly ask for it. Win win.

Thanks, and keep up the fantastic work.

-David

STUDIO ZIMOUN

STUDIO ZIMOUN Plus

And for us the opposite would be great. We would like to force the embeeded video to auto start in HD.

Is there no way just to force (or not to force) HD with a change in the embeed code? (in the same way like loop or autoplay?)
That would be great and help us but also guys like David who want the opposite... Thanks, Nina / ZVA

RDJim

RDJim Plus

David Nett, Seeing the HD impressions are no longer an issue does HD off by default still an issue for you? Obviously it must have changed since you posted this message because HD is now off by default. There is a group of us who want full control over when HD is on or off.

Underground Planet

Underground Planet Plus