Panasonic AG-AC160 Users Group (and AG-AC130, too)

AVCHD clips corrupted

Andrew Abell

Andrew Abell

I'm a student filmmaker and I wrapped a 7 hour shoot last night that yielded 60 clips, maybe 50 minutes of total footage. I'm shooting on a Panasonic AG-AC160. Watched some dailies this morning and they looked great so I decided to import them to my PC so I put the SD card in and navigated to the clips folder. I thought I could watch a few right from the SD so I selected them to open in VLC. I received an error saying that the clip was missing the .MTS. I noticed the clips were gone, though still occupying space, but all that remained was a single filed called "USBPCP&" with a strange ASCII character after it. I safely removed the SD and loaded it back into the camera which said that all the clips needed repair and that irreparable clips would be deleted. It's been running for about 20 minutes as my heart sits in my throat. I'm quite positive trying to open clips from the SD with VLC somehow corrupted the data.

Is anyone familiar with this situation?

Greg Fulcher

Greg Fulcher

Hi, Andrew -- welcome to the group and I'm sorry for the troubles you're experiencing. While I haven't personally encountered this particular issue with regards to my 160, I've two colleagues who have (on a Panasonic AF100). It's not clear if they used VLC to first view their clips or not, but what is certain is that when it came time to import the media into Final Cut Pro (v7, in their case), there was "nothing" on the card. Inserting into the AF100 in one of the cases resulted in a similar such message to yours (although, I can't say for certain as I wasn't there).