Canon EOS 7D

550D or 7D?

Tsering

Tsering

hey guys

i'm gona buy a new camera in easter. was struggling choosing between 7d and 5d mk ii, and finally decided to go with 7d. BUT, saw the news and previews of to-be -released 550d today. seems 550d is a cheaper version of 7d, or is it not?

Please help me out with some pro ideas. Thanks a lot!!!

btw, shooting films is my main purpose.

Josh Ratliff

Josh Ratliff Plus

I can only tell you that my 7D is a great joy to use. I have have never regretted my purchase. You will love it.

Benjamín Hernández

Benjamín Hernández

I have recently purchased the 7D, though im new to dslr cameras and cant quite give you the specification comparing the 550D and 7D. I can tell you that when i was deciding what dSLR camera to buy, i had previously been looking at the GH1 and the 5D. I went with 7D, even though the GH1 is about ~$1000 US dollars less and the 5D is about ~$1000 more I went for the mid range. Even now with the 550D being released, i would still go for the 7D being the next best thing. If i may say (you get what you pay for).

Im glad to say im enjoying the 7D very much.

Jurgen

Jurgen

There is no competition. The 7D is built like a tank and you can take it anywhere. It has a dual processor with more power than the 550D. The spec sheet doesn't compare. From a creative point of view it's a much more versatile and adaptable camera than the 550D and that's what you are paying for. When I first picked up the 7D in the shop I instantly knew I was buying a Mercedes, without even looking at the high quality pictures it could take.
Compared to the 7D the 550D looks more like small family saloon that gets you from A to B. Although it has the same pixel count as the 7D and its video now has a usable frame rate, I wouldn't swap it for my 7D.

Jonathan Fantucchio

Jonathan Fantucchio

At this point it is all speculation.