Ian Power Plus

Dublin, Ireland

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

With a first class honours from the MA Film in Dublin's D.I.T. Aungier St. in 1999, Ian Power followed his graduation film with the 15 minute short film 'Buskers', which scooped first prize at a number of international film festivals.

He began directing commercials in 2001 and has won numerous awards for his work. Previous clients include BT, The National Lottery, RTE, Axa, Invest NI, and Three Mobile.

In 2004 he won a Short Cuts Award to make 'The Wonderful Story of Kelvin Kind' which was picked up by Warner Bros. for a nationwide theatrical release in January 2005. In April, the film won Best Short Drama at

The Celtic Film & Television Festival in Cardiff. In 2009 Ian wrote and directed 'The Runway', his first feature length film starring Demian Bichir (Steven Soderberg's 'Che' & Showtime’s'Weeds'), Kerry Condon ('The Last Station'), and James Cosmo ('Braveheart'). 'The Runway' premiered at The Galway Film Fleadh in 2010 and picked up the award for Best Irish Feature.

'The Runway' will have its European Premiere at the Rome Film Festival, and its US Premiere at the Palm Springs Film Festival. It has also made official selection at the Pusan and Doha Film Festivals.

In July, 'The Runway' was selected for the Director's Guild of America's Finders Series in conjunction with the Screen Directors Guild of Ireland and will screen at the DGA's headquarters in Los Angeles on the 1st of October this year.

Finders Series, Directors Guild of America ‘The Runway’
Best Irish Feature, Galway Film Fleadh 2010 ‘The Runway’
Best Comedy Short, Fastnet Short Film Festival 2010 ‘Dental Breakdown’
Remi Award, Houston Film Festival 2010 ‘Dental Breakdown’
Award of Excellence, Los Angeles Movie Awards 2010 ‘Dental Breakdown’.
Best Short Drama, Celtic Film & TV Festival 2004 ‘The Wonderful Story of Kelvin Kind’
Best Director ICAD Advertising Awards 2001 RTE Lyric FM
Best Short Film, Foyle Film Festival 2000 ‘Buskers’
Best Short Film, Cork Intl Film Festival 2000 ‘Buskers’
Audience Award, Cork Intl Film Festival 2000 ‘Buskers’.
Best Short Film, Galway Film Fleadh 2000 ‘Buskers’.

External Links


  1. Ruairi Robinson
  2. Nick Ryan
  3. Thomas Hefferon
  4. T4productions
  5. Edwina Forkin
  6. Ivan McCullough
  7. Sophie Merry
  8. Anne McCarthy
  9. Waves + Patterns by Dado DZIHAN
  10. Robert Pejo
  11. Sharyn Hayden
  12. Liam O'Neill
  13. Cian de buitlear
  14. Jim Roche
  15. Keith Singleton