Norm Skipp


User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Norman Skipp is a NZ/UK composer/sonic artist, video artist and online editor/compositor based in Manchester, UK. Norm devotes himself to creating innovative sound and visual compositions in collaboration with a diverse range of artists.

His wide and varied body of work includes multi-artist works such as Safe In Sound (2001) and Feast (2000) which were multileveled works blending sonic art, butoh, theatre, video art and instrumental performance. These featured the talents of fellow composer Paul Booth, writer/director Simon Taylor, dancer/chorographers Gabrielle New and Wilhemeena Monroe and actor Jeff Gane amongst their collaborators.

In 2008 he formed scape with his brother Rod Skipp to create various improvised live electronic works. This recently saw them create (arc) with a number of notable Manchester musicians.

Other works include:

Obsidian (2011) for Cor Anglais, Clarinet in A and Bassoon, recently written for the Manchester Reed Trio.

The Right to Remain Silent (2007), which was realised at CCMIX in Paris in early 2007.

An Aversion to Light [2] (2005), a short dance film collaboration with choreographer Kristian Larsen and composer leyton.

Beyond Skin (2004), a mixed media dance collaboration with choreographer Kathleen Skipp.

Epithalamion (2003), a live–processing realisation of the poem by E. E. Cummings with actor Michael Hurst for the (09)03 Contemporary Music Festival.

International performances of his video and sound work have taken place in New Zealand, Australia, U.S.A., U.K., France and Canada as part of festivals such as NextWave, Soliton, Pulsefield, 34th New Zealand International Film Festival 2002, Festival Licènces and Synthèse

External Links


  1. Flix Facilities
  2. Justin Batchelor- BATCHEDIT
  3. Unidentified Sound Object
  4. Cedric Dupire
  5. Richard Devine
  6. The Wire Magazine
  7. colliderscope
  8. Bjarni Gunnarsson
  9. NOVARS Research Centre
  10. Sound and Music
  11. tim prebble
  12. Scanner
  13. Francesco Fuzz Brasini
  14. Campbell Farquhar