Wood Brothers Racing

Harrisburg, NC

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

The Wood Brothers Racing story began 60 years ago when family patriarch Glen Wood decided to try racing.

The elder Wood went on to race on the beach in Daytona, win four races on the fledgling NASCAR circuit and become one of NASCAR'S 50 Greatest Drivers. Wood gave up his driving duties following the 1964 season. The team had already employed a number of other drivers during the previous eight years, and in 1965 Glen became a full-time owner.

In fact, 20 of NASCAR'S Greatest Drivers have driven for Wood Brothers Racing. That list includes Curtis Turner, Tiny Lund, Fireball Roberts, Bob Welborn, Dale Jarrett, A.J. Foyt, Glen Wood, Buddy Baker, Marvin Panch, Junior Johnson, Cale Yarborough, Ned Jarrett, Fred Lorenzen, David Pearson, Joe Weatherly, Ralph Earnhardt, Neil Bonnett, Ricky Rudd, Mark Martin, and Bill Elliott.

Over the years Glen enlisted family members to work on the car and serve as the pit crew on race weekends. His youngest brother Leonard was with the team from inception, and engineered the team's lightning quick pit stops. Leonard also built the engines.

Wood Brothers Racing, now owned equally by Glen and his children Eddie, Len and Kim, is the oldest continuously operating NASCAR Cup Series team and the team has always raced Ford products.

External Links