Inspired by the seminal Afrofuturist, science-fiction writer Octavia Butler's Xenogenesis Trilogy, virtuosic flutist and composer Nicole Mitchell evokes a journey into the horrific unknown in the newest chapter of her Xenogenesis Project, Intergalactic Beings. Butler's alien abduction tale incorporates rape, racism, and slavery into a disturbing tale of survival. Mitchell's musical interpretation was written for her Black Earth Ensemble, an improvising chamber orchestra, and taps the emotional and surreal qualities of Butler's prose.

Black Earth Ensemble:
Joshua Abrams, upright bass
Renee Baker, violin
David Boykin, tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
Marcus Evans, drums
Nicole Mitchell, flutes
Mankwe Ndosi, vocals
Jeffrey Parker, electric guitar
Avreeayl Ra, percussion
Tomeka Reid, cello
David Young, trumpet

65 minute performance, no intermission.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…