Conservatory students of the Curtis Institute of Music (Philadelphia) performed a concert on March 15, 2010 celebrating the centenary of American composer Samuel Barber's birth, at the Library of Congress's Coolidge Auditorium. I captured the concert with a modest one-camera setup. The performers of this work are:

Sarah Shafer, soprano
Mikael Eliasen (faculty), piano

"Hermit Songs" is based on ten anonymous poems by Irish monks and scholars from the 8th to 13th Centuries. A particularly meaningful detail, in relation to this performance, is that its world premiere was from the very same stage of the Coolidge Auditorium (on commission from Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge). On that historic occasion, October 30, 1953, Leontyne Price sang these songs accompanied by the composer himself, Samuel Barber.

1. At Saint Patrick's Purgatory
2. Church Bell at Night
3. St. Ita's Vision
4. The Heavenly Banquet
5. The Crucifixion
6. Sea-Snatch
7. Promiscuity
8. The Monk and His Cat: Pangur, White Pangur
9. The Praises of God: How Foolish the Man
10. The Desire for Hermitage

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…