The man who changed the way many of us live and work by designing the world’s first laptop computer - Bill Moggridge RDI - has been named the winner of the 2010 Prince Philip Designers Prize by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh.

Because Bill couldn't be in London on 9 November 2010 to accept the award in person, he recorded this thank you speech where he congratulates the other designers who were shortlisted for the award. They include: Christopher Bailey, Neville Brody, Margaret Calvert, Zaha Hadid, Eva Jiricna, John Makepeace, Adrian Newey, and Vivienne Westwood.

Find out more about the Prince Philip Designers Prize at

Design by Multiadaptor

Photographs from the judging session by Christine Donnier-Valetin.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…