Surfer Poll. The glamor. The fame. We were all geared up for a massive night on the town. Girls in tight dresses, men in gangster skater slash surfer outfits and Big Wave Surfer Mark Healy in his salmon suit. Hilarious. But alas, after the award ceremony the Turtle Bay staff had us all out in a jiff. Knowing full well how much trouble surfers can cause en mass. But maybe it was a good thing, because after a very emotional tribute to Andy Irons, and a follow up speech from Bruce - most people were ready for bed. Quite a good thing really - as the surf was beginning to pick up. Check out who we spoke too.

Kelly Slater was named Surfer Polls No.1 Surfer with his epic 10 world titles. Dedicating his win to Andy and telling the crowd just one of his many memories of Andy. Following Slater in the No. 2 spot was Dane Reynolds - and his hilarious acceptance speech, succeeded by Jordy Smith, Mick Fanning, Taj Burrow, Andy Irons, Rob Machado, Joel Parkinson, Julian Wilson, and Owen Wright, who rounded out the Top 10. In the women's category, four-time World Champion Stephanie Gilmore claimed her second win in a row. Carissa Moore took the No. 2 spot, followed by Coco Ho, Sofia Mulanovich, and Alana Blanchard. Kai Neville took out film of the year for Modern Collective, and Taylor Steele's Castles in the sky pulled best cinematography. -Fran Derham

Footage: Claire Gorman and Claire Plueckhahn

Fran Derham and Clare Plueckhahn are a savvy team of content creators telling stories through words, stills and film. Visit their website COS WE CAN for further info, contact and enquires.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…