Winners of the 2010 United Nations Association of Australia Media Peace Awards were announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner held at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne, Friday 22 October. The Awards ceremony was hosted by Virginia Trioli, ABC News Breakfast.

The National Awards Program was established in 1979, and recognises those in the Australian media whose work addresses and promotes human rights, humanitarian and social justice issues.

2010 Awards were presented in the following categories:

Major Award Categories:
- Best Print (News, Feature)
- Best Television (News, Current Affairs & Feature)
- Best Radio
- Best Photojournalism
- Best Online

Special Award Categories:
- Promotion of Aboriginal Reconciliation
- Promotion of Multicultural Issues
- Increasing Understanding and Awareness of Children's Rights and Issues
- Promotion of Positive Images of the Older Person
- Increasing Awareness and Understanding of Women's Rights and Issues

For more information please visit:

Video courtesy of JunroStudio

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…