On the 29th July 2011 a raid was staged across the River Clyde in celebration of the reuniting of the Parish of Govan with the new ferry service across the Clyde.
Local children made special costumes ready to stake their claim to the territory occupied by the new Riverside Museum.
Govan is unique in the UK in having a parish boundary that extends across a river. This link goes way back in history to a time when Govan was home to the Kings of the Kingdom of Strathclyde in the 7th & 8th centuries. This royal court had it's palace on the ‘Partick’ side of the river and their Church and Parliament on the Southside.
Govan Old Church still occupies the site of this ancient church and the world-famous sculptured stones (visible in the present-day church) date from the 10&11th centuries.
Until 1850 a massive flat-topped hill called Doomster Hill stood near the church –this was the site of the parliament and court of justice of the Strathclyde kings. Today the Riverside housing scheme sits on the site of Doomster Hill.
Two sets of flags have been created for the Raid. One has images from Govan's history while the other depicts details of the area today. One set of flags was planted on the south side before crossing the Clyde to plant the second set outside the Museum.
The Govan Raid is supported by Glasgow Housing Association
Govan Youth Programme
Strathclyde Fire Brigade
The GalGael Trust
The Tall Ship and The Riverside Museum