In this video press release, Assembly Speaker Sheila Y. Oliver (D-Essex), Assembly Deputy Speaker John S. Wisniewski (D-Middlesex), Assembly Majority Conference Leader Gordon M. Johnson (D-Bergen), Assembly Budget Committee Chair Vincent Prieto (D-Hudson) and Assemblywoman L. Grace Spencer (D-Essex) voice their support of Democratically-sponsored legislation to increase New Jersey's minimum wage.

Speaker Oliver, during the Assembly's reorganization in January announced increasing the state's minimum wage - currently $7.25 an hour - would be a Democratic priority.

The bill (A-2162) would increase New Jersey's hourly minimum wage to $8.50 as of July 1. Thereafter, the state's minimum wage would be adjusted annually based on any increases in the Consumer Price Index; these changes would take place on July 1 of the year in question.

The measure passed the General Assembly May 24 by a party-line vote of 46-33.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…