Born out of the idea of allowing the city’s young and emerging artists to showcase their talent on a bigger platform with a unified voice, The MANIFESTO Festival of Community and Culture celebrated its 5 year anniversary in 2011, from September 15th-25th in Toronto Canada.

11 Days. 13 Events. 100+ Organizers. 150+ Artists. One City.

For Full 2011 Festival Programming visit:

Thanks to all of our volunteers, staff, board, artists, attendees, supporters and funders for always helping us make it happen. The 5th Annual Manifesto Festival, was supported by Canadian Heritage, the Government of Ontario, the Ontario Trillium Foundation, Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Culture, Laidlaw Foundation, Celebrate Ontario, FACTOR, Red Bull, Slaight Music, TD Canada Trust, New Era as well as a large network of grassroots arts organizations, arts institutions, media outlets and other community partners.

The festival has grown over the past 5 years and we have something very unique and special planned for 2012. While you are here, let's take a journey down memory lane and check out Manifesto Festival Recaps from year 1-4

Special MJ 2009 Edition:

Che Kothari

The Avengers
Char Loro
Brian Woon-A-Tai
Jon Riera

Full Length Recap Editor
Luke Higginson

Art.Honor.Respect Films
Mark Valino
Giles Monette

LaPointe Productions
Bryan LaPointe

Camera Operators
Jared Lorenz
Bre Major
Jonny Page
Lucas Joseph
Kat Rizza
Justin Rojas
Jackie Mak
Brent Marson
Jason Rodricks
Zanana Pinas
Nick Kazlovskis
Elliot Clancy-Osberg
Patrick Wade
Jamie McMahon
Laetitia Gentil
Cainan Querido
Che Kothari
Crane Operator
Kim Stephenson

DMT/Assistant Producers
Maddy O'Shaughnessy
Brent Marson
Artem Pashkevic
Jackie Mak
Kat Rizza

Voice Overs
Tiffany Hsiung
The Real Sun
Che Kothari

Patrick Wade
Jamie McMahon
Justin Rojas
Jared Lorenz
Elliot Clancy-Osberg
Connor Illsley
Nick Kazlovskis

Music Credits

Hudson Mohawk - Ice Viper
Marmalade - Lost Vibes
9th Wonder - Warrior Song
Shi Wisdom - Lovespeak
Marmalade - The Solution
TI - Ready Set Go
Marmalade - Something New
Smif-n-Wessun - See The Light
J-Dilla - Say It
No-ID - The Real Weight
Marmalade - Love Me
Rakim - Its Been A Long Time

Simon Head
Max Fruchtman

Graphic Design
Ryan Paterson
Marc Ghali
Christian Bortey

Visual Effects Designer
Switch Media
Rob Aitken

Manifesto Community Projects 2011

Executive Director
Che Kothari

Creative Director
Ryan Paterson

Programming Director
Jesse Ohtake

Managing Director
Noora Sagarwala

Outreach & Internship Director
Jade Lee Hoy

Music Director
Wan Lucas

Visual Arts Director
Ashley McKenzie-Barnes

Dance Director
Jon “Drops” Reid

All Styles Dance Director
Diana Reyes

Freshest Goods Director
Taurean Scotland

Wombmanifesto Directors
Nayani Thiyagarajah & Jade Lee Hoy

Education & Workshop Director
Shaka Licorish

Film Directors
Che Kothari & Shaka Licorish

Lead Designers
Marc Ghali

Web Director
Kevin Centeno

Fundraising Director
Jason Eano

Fundraising Team
Amy Peebles & Kofi Gyeke

Heather Campbell

Tamir Z. Brown, Venture Deli, Mendicant, Chris Kang, Maneesh Singhla


Garvia Bailey

Prakash Surapaneni

Muginga Antonio
Donna Harrow
Seema Jethalal
Ian Kamau
Jonathan Ramos
Miro Oballa
Devon Ostrom
Taslim Visram

Supported by Youth Employment Services (YES), Toronto Community Housing (TCH) and the United Nations Association in Canada (UNAC)

Executive Assistant
Huda Hassan

Executive Assistant Advisor
Nayani Thiyagarajah

Mentee to the Executive Director
Shaka Licorish & Yasmine Mathurin

Managing Director Assistant
Soko Negash

Programming Assistant
Amy Hosotsuji

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…