The Datsuns will release their fifth album Death Rattle Boogie on October 12; ten years to the day since the release of their self-titled debut, which saw the New Zealanders tagged as “the future of rock”.

2002 saw The Datsuns catapulted into the international music scene with the release of their debut record and being hailed by the British press as “the future of rock”. Being plastered on the cover of one of the world’s biggest music publications was more than the band were ever expecting. The decade since has seen The Datsuns produce another three studio albums, tour the world many times and play some of the biggest music festivals on the planet.

Cut to 2012 and The Datsuns are ready to launch the album they are most proud of to date. Recorded in Sweden at lead singer Dolf De Borst’s Gutterview studios and at Neil Finn’s Roundhead studios in Auckland, Death Rattle Boogie took shape under the watchful hand of Nicke Andersson, ex-member of Swedish hard-rockers, The Hellacopters.

Dolf says that the record is the result of “trying different things in the studio that you can’t do live, and dissecting records that I really love and working out, ‘How did they do that’ … We’ve tried and make things sound a little weirder and wilder, instead of just setting up and pressing record.”

The celebrate the release of the album the band will be hitting the road in Australia with two consecutive shows in Melbourne at The Espy, Front Bar for FREE.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…