Formerly the solo project of Alexander Simpson, William Within is now a electric folk quintet based in Minneapolis. The group’s sound is laden with unique guitar tunings, whispery vocals, reverb-soaked string arrangements and fine-tuned drumming, often earning them comparisons to Grizzly Bear, M. Ward, Destroyer and Nick Drake. WW is currently performing songs from their debut self-titled album, a few older songs off of Simpson’s 2011 solo release For Your Nostalgic Pleasure and a few new songs. Since forming in September 2011, William Within has already opened for national touring acts Tilly and the Wall and Peter Wolf Crier, performed a live in-studio on the award-winning Minneapolis radio station Radio K, starred in Radio K’s first ever “Tiny Music Fest” (watch here:, and has sold out the 400 Bar for its first CD release. William Within consists of Alexander Simpson on acoustic guitar, Tom Steffes on electric guitar, Derek Rohlf on violin, mandolin, vocals, Matt Blake on double bass and saw, Toby Ramaswamy on drums, percussion, vocals. WW has also worked with trumpeter Cameron Kinghorn (on “Black Car” and “Untouched Afternoon”) and saxophonist Max Grossman (on “Vicariously Yours”).

Filmed at Essential Sessions Studio in St. Paul, MN (

For more info about the band please visit

Audio Engineer is Bo Bodnar (
Videographer and Editor is Robert Gooding (

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…