The Railway Children are a British alternative rock band, formed in Wigan in 1984, by Gary Newby (songwriter/vocals/guitar/keyboards), Brian Bateman (rhythm/guitar), Guy Keegan (drums), and Stephen Hull (bass).

Factory Records recorded their debut single A Gentle Sound in 1986, followed by their debut album Reunion Wilderness in 1987, both releases topped the UK Indie Chart, along with their second single, "Brighter".[1] They left Factory shortly afterwards and were signed to Virgin Records.[1]

1988 saw the release of their second album, "Recurrence", on Virgin Records, and support tours with R.E.M. in Europe (Work Tour) and The Sugarcubes in the U.S. A national chart hit eluded them with singles "In The Meantime", "Somewhere South" and "Over and Over". In 1990, they released Native Place, an album that saw the band take a more dance oriented direction, with keyboard textures coming more to the fore then previously. "Every Beat of the Heart" became a Top 40 hit in the UK with a peak at No. 24, and the song became a No. 1 hit on the newly-founded Modern Rock Tracks chart in the U.S.[2][3]

In 1992, EMI took over Virgin Records, and the band left the label. Two years later, the original line-up broke up, leaving Newby to continue alone.[1] Newby has since released two albums as The Railway Children: Dream Arcade (1997, Ether Records) and Gentle Sound (2002, Ether Records) as well as a Rarities album in 2007, available only by download from his official site (listed below).[1]

Keegan later had a spell in the Wigan based folk-rock band, The Tansads The Crash Band & The Ultras.

Newby spent several years in Japan, writing/arranging music and lyrics for several major Japanese artists, including Anna Tsuchiya, Every Little Thing, V6, (film) Detroit Metal City and (TV) Sailor Moon

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…