Colorado is currently experiencing some of the largest wildfires in the state's history. In June, I visited the Bruce Spruce Ranch a little ways outside of Pagosa Springs and watched as the Windy Pass, West Fork, and Papoose wildfires burned thousands of acres of forest. I have never seen such a powerful event up close like this before, it was truly humbling.

Please visit whoismatt.com/pagosatimelapse and download this film in high definition. The video itself is 3 Gigabytes in size and looks amazing.

To download clips from this video to use in your own projects and videos, please visit lightstock.com/users/whoismatt/boards/4661147

Music by Salomon Lighthelm at The Music Bed // themusicbed.com/#!/In-The-Sullen-Silence-5326/

Timelapse Featured On:

PETAPIXEL // petapixel.com/2013/08/09/this-awe-inspiring-time-lapse-captures-the-power-of-the-2013-colorado-wildfires/

THE AWESOMER // theawesomer.com/pagosa-wildfire-time-lapse/248770/

BROADSHEET // broadsheet.ie/2013/08/20/colorado-on-fire/

The Huffington Post // huffingtonpost.com/brandon-ambrosino/colorado-forest-fires-video_b_3792841.html

Slate's Bad Astronomy Blog // slate.com/blogs/bad_astronomy/2013/08/29/time_lapse_video_colorado_wildfire.html

Salon // salon.com/2013/08/23/a_stunning_film_captures_the_colorado_wildfires/

Timelaps.es // timelaps.es/pagosa-a-timelapse-of-the-colorado-wildfires/

Todays Big Thing // tbt.collegehumor.com/embed/6909853/amazing-timelapse-of-the-colorado-wildfires

The Mountain Mail // themountainmail.com/free_content/article_2456f912-0c01-11e3-af99-0019bb30f31a.html

Wildfire Today // wildfiretoday.com/2013/08/22/time-lapse-photography-of-colorado-fire/

Earth in Transition // earthintransition.org/2013/08/days-in-the-life-of-a-forest-fire/

The Durango Herald // durangoherald.com/article/20130827/NEWS01/130829560/0/FRONTPAGE/West-Fork-fires-caught-in-time-lapse-video

The Pagosa Springs Journal // pagosasprings.com/the-west-fork-burned-and-already-healing-new-video-here/

Picture Correct // picturecorrect.com/tips/timelapse-photography-of-colorado-during-major-wildfires/

American Alpine Institute // alpineinstitute.blogspot.com/2013/08/climbing-and-outdoor-news-from-here-and_29.html

Mother Jones // motherjones.com/blue-marble/2013/08/time-lapse-video-colorado-fire

Grist // grist.org/climate-energy/a-gorgeous-video-of-a-devastating-fire/

WTKR News // wtkr.com/2013/08/30/video-timelapse-of-colorado-wildfires/

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…