Understanding the White Wines of Burgundy
MyCellarMaster.com - "Taste Life Now!"

The five wine districts of Burgundy start in the north in the town of Chablis. As you move south, you reach the area known as the Côte D'Or, which means "Golden Slope." It is divided into two sub-regions, the Côte de Nuits and the Côte de Beaune. As you continue south, you enter the Côte Chalonnaise and then the Mâconnais. The fifth and final region in the south is Beaujolais.

Location is key in Burgundy, as the region is comparatively cool and sun exposure is very important. The finest vineyard sites face the sun, which is critical to assure that grapes fully ripen. Vintners pay careful attention to weather conditions and in years when sunlight is not in abundance, highly acidic and thin wines are the costly result. In Burgundy, white wines are almost exclusively made from Chardonnay grapes and the red wines from Pinot Noir.

Learn more at the following link:

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…