The University of Alabama’s College of Communication and Information Sciences held its annual communication Hall of Fame on Oct. 12, 2013 in the North Zone at Bryant-Denny Stadium and this video was produced to be shown at the event.

The 2013 inductees were Wayne Greenhaw, William M. Harvill, and James W. Oakley.

Wayne Greenhaw was one of Alabama’s most beloved figures and a historian to Montgomery. His series of books on Montgomery and the civil rights movement serve as historic references for many scholars around the world. Greenhaw’s writings won him the UA journalism department’s Clarence Cason Award in Nonfiction Writing in 2005 and the Harper Lee Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Writer in 2006.

William M. (Billy) Harvill served as CEO of the Intermark Group, which has become the largest advertising agency in Alabama and one of the largest in the Southeast. His work in advertising earned him the 2005 CEO of the Year and Ad Man of the year and the Silver Medal Award from the Birmingham Advertising Federation. Harvill serves on the President’s Cabinet at The University of Alabama and is the chairman of UAB’s Comprehensive Cancer Center.

James W. (Jim) Oakley took his 27 years of running the Centreville Press and his lifetime experience as a journalist and has delivered it to students at The University of Alabama. He advises communication students throughout their careers and helps them seek internships and jobs. He is a past president of the Alabama Press Association, former chairman of the Alabama Commission of Higher Education, and he helped establish the Troy University Hall School of Journalism and serves on its Board of Visitors.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…