A ceremony was held at the headquarters of the San Diego County Sheriff's Department on May 1st to honor the service and sacrifice of fallen deputies.

Sheriff Bill Gore said: "Behind me this beautiful memorial is entitled 'The Ultimate Sacrifice.' It stands a tribute to them every day for people to see as they come and go at Sheriff's headquarters. Still, it's important to sit aside a few moments to reflect on what that means. Each one of the deputies named on this wall had plans for their future. There were things they wanted to do, places they wanted to go, and things they wanted to accomplish. These plans, this future was denied. It was sacrificed for a cause, for a commitment to duty. They had each committed their lives to a profession that sometimes demands the ultimate sacrifice. So we honor them and remember them fondly."

Since the Sheriff's Department was created in 1850, nine deputies have given their lives protecting San Diego County:

Deputy Andrew Kriss (1864)
Deputy Will Ward (1899)
Deputy Thomas A. Fay (1919)
Deputy Donn G. Witt (1983)
Deputy Kelly Ann Bazer (1986)
Deputy Lonny Gene Brewer (1987)
Deputy Theodore L. Beckmann Jr. (1989)
Deputy Patrick Steven Coyle (1997)
Deputy Ken Collier (2010)

To learn more about these San Diego County Sheriff's Deputies, go to: goo.gl/C6SYZW.

Loading more stuff…

Hmm…it looks like things are taking a while to load. Try again?

Loading videos…