Archdiocese of Agana, Guam

Agana, Guam

User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

The Diocese of Agana was established on October 14, 1965, as a suffragan of the Archdiocese of San Francisco, California. Elevated to Metropolitan Archdiocese, May 20, 1984 with the suffragan Sees of the Diocese of the Caroline Marshalls and Diocese of Chalan Kanoa (subsequently added January 13, 1985). Originally erected as a Vicariate by Pope Pius X, March 1, 1911 and committed to the Order of Friars Minor Capuchin, extended to all the Marianas Islands, July 4, 1946, Wake Island, June 14, 1948. The Archbishop of Agaña is a member of the CEPAC Conference, Member of the Federation of Catholic Bishops Conference of Oceania. Observer to NCCB-USCCB. Guam is an unincorporated Territory of the U.S.A. by an Act of the U.S. Congress July 21, 1949. Legal Title: Archbishop of Agana, a Corporation Sole.

External Links