1. Saturday, June 8, 2013: Stephen Chbosky wrote and directed the feature film adaptation of his novel, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. A native of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, he graduated from the University of Southern California’s Filmic Writing Program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at Sundance Film Festival. He wrote the screenplay for the critically acclaimed film adaptation of Rent; and co-created the post-apocalyptic television drama, Jericho. He also edited Pieces, a collection of short stories for Pocket Books.

    # vimeo.com/73402492 Uploaded 25 Plays 2 Comments
  2. Sunday, June 9, 2013: Moderated by Lorelei Armstrong This panel focuses on the excitement, the investment, and the trials and tribulations of a first time novelist. What would you have done differently had you only known? Panelists, whether working with a major publishing house or small press, will discuss their experiences throughout the publishing process: agents, editors, publicity, book signings, and reviews. Panelists include:

    Patricia Bracewell’s debut novel, Shadow on the Crown, was published by Viking/Penguin in the U.S. and Canada, and by HarperCollins U.K. in Britain and the Commonwealth. The first book of a trilogy set in eleventh century England, the novel is also slated for publication in Italy and Brazil.

    Born and raised in California, Patricia taught high school literature and composition before embarking upon her writing career. She holds a Masters Degree in English Literature and has studied Anglo-Saxon History both as an undergrad in the U.S. and as an independent scholar, including a brief summer course at the University of Cambridge. She is a member of the Historical Novel Society and the S.F. Bay Area writers’ organization, Left Coast Writers©. She has travelled extensively in Europe, Asia and South America, both for research and for pleasure. She enjoys gardening, tennis, and, of course, reading, and she is still a decent guitarist and folksinger, although her writing leaves her little time for practice. She has two sons and lives with her husband in the San Francisco Bay area.

    Karen Keskinen is the author of Blood Orange, first book in the Jaymie Zarlin mystery series. Set in Santa Barbara, character-driven with a twisting plot, Blood Orange explores the fault lines between privileged and poor and exposes a vein of corruption in a heavenly little city. In Blood Orange, Santa Barbara itself is a character. Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books is the publisher, and the release date is June 4, 2013.

    Born and raised in Salinas, California, Keskinen has also lived in Wellington, New Zealand, and in the Northern San Joaquin Valley. She now resides in Santa Barbara, in a house perched halfway up a steep hill known to geologists as the Mesa Fault.

    Melanie Thorne is the author of Hand Me Down, a debut novel in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2012 and a 2013 YALSA Alex Award nominee, Hand Me Down has been highly praised by media, including the San Francisco Chronicle, Daily Candy, and People. Melanie earned her MA in Creative Writing from the University of CA, Davis, and has been awarded the Alva Englund Fellowship, the Maurice Prize in Fiction, and a residency at the Hedgebrook Writers’ Retreat on Whidbey Island. She lives in Northern California. Find her online at melaniethorne.com.

    Robin Winter started writing with a fully illustrated manuscript 'Chickens and their Diseases' when in second grade in Nigeria. Some years later she and her family were evacuated as the Nigerian Civil War began in 1967. It is from her memories of Nigeria that her novel Night Must Wait, released in 2012 by Imajin Books, evolved. Her first science fiction novel, Future Past is due for release in mid 2013 from Damnation Books. She has published science fiction and horror stories, won awards for writing, and in 2011 had a collection of her short stories performed in Los Angeles' New Short Fiction Series.

    As a child Robin lived in a number of places beginning with 'N'; Nebraska, Nigeria, New Hampshire and New York. Now living in California, she has no intention of going back to any of the preceding.

    Her other career centers on oil painting, both landscape and figure. Her husband, a paleocarpologist, corrects the science in both her paintings and her writings, and has acquired considerable skill in ducking flying objects. They have a teenage daughter who also loves to write, and three cats who don't.

    # vimeo.com/73483795 Uploaded 67 Plays 0 Comments
  3. Tuesday, June 11th at 4pm
    Moderated by Barnaby Conrad III

    Writing a book is a solitary effort for most us, but at a certain point in the publishing process we will need or be required an editor. What questions should a writer ask before agreeing to work with an editor? What should the editor know about the writer? Also, when and how do you disagree respectfully? Panelists will share their experiences working together on everything from copyediting to plotting. Panelists include:
    Kat Brzozowski
    Kat Brzozowski is an associate editor at Thomas Dunne Books, a division of St. Martin's Press, after interning at top literary agencies including Writers House, and Foundry Literary + Media. Her forthcoming acquisitions include Blood Orange, a P.I. mystery set in Santa Barbara, California; Blonde Ops, pitched as The Devil Wears Prada meets James Bond for teens; and The Evidence Room, a police procedural set in the Florida bayou. She is eager to acquire young adult fiction, especially contemporary fiction with a strong female protagonist; light, contemporary YA with a great hook; mysteries, suspense, and thrillers; horror; and sci-fi. She is especially interested in YA with crossover appeal (in the vein of Megan Abbott’s Dare Me).In adult fiction, Kat loves literary mysteries (Tana French and Kate Atkinson are two of her favorites) as well as suspense, thrillers, and smart, commercial women's fiction. She is also interested in narrative nonfiction and pop culture books with wide appeal.
    Karen Keskinen

    Karen Keskinen is the author of Blood Orange, first book in the Jaymie Zarlin mystery series. Set in Santa Barbara, character-driven with a twisting plot, Blood Orange explores the fault lines between privileged and poor and exposes a vein of corruption in a heavenly little city. In Blood Orange, Santa Barbara itself is a character. Minotaur/Thomas Dunne Books is the publisher, and the release date is June 4, 2013.

    Born and raised in Salinas, California, Keskinen has also lived in Wellington, New Zealand, and in the Northern San Joaquin Valley. She now resides in Santa Barbara, in a house perched halfway up a steep hill known to geologists as the Mesa Fault.
    Erin L. Cox

    Erin L. Cox develops and represents writers for the company, provides publicity expertise to company clients, offers individualized publicity and promotion services for outside clients, and works with corporate clients including Conde Nast Digital and the Frankfurt Book Fair. Erin was most recently Book Publishing Director at The New Yorker where she oversaw book advertising and developed support for books on the business and editorial sides of the magazine. Erin began her career in book publishing in 1999 in the publicity department at Scribner, where she worked with New York Times bestselling authors Frank McCourt, Linda Fairstein, Kathy Reichs, and Al Roker, and critically-acclaimed writers Colm Toibin, Meg Wolitzer, Maile Meloy, and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc. In addition to creating and implementing traditional book campaigns, Erin also worked on the publicity team responsible for innovative e-book initiatives for Stephen King and Robert Jordan. In 2005, Erin was named Associate Director of Publicity at HarperCollins, where she worked on bestsellers by Lisa Scottoline, Janet Evanovich, and Tony Hillerman, among others.
    Sameer Pandya

    Sameer Pandya is a fiction and non-fiction writer whose work has appeared in Narrative Magazine, Other Voices, Epiphany, Ozone Park Journal, Sports Illustrated, ESPN, Spin, and The New York Daily News. He teaches literature and creative writing at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

    # vimeo.com/81665605 Uploaded 82 Plays 0 Comments
  4. Tuesday, June 11 at 7:30 p.m: Jervey Tervalon is the author of five books including Understanding This, for which he won the Quality Paper Book Club’s New Voice’s Award, and Dead Above Ground, the Los Angeles Times bestseller. He was the Remsen Bird Writer in Residence at Occidental College and now is an associate professor at National University and a Lecturer at the College of Creative Studies at UC Santa Barbara. His current novel Serving Monster, is available as a Kindle Book. He is also an award-winning poet, screenwriter, dramatist, and the director of the Literature for Life Project; a literary/salon magazine.

    Jervey was born in New Orleans and raised in Los Angeles. He received his MFA from UC Irvine and studied with Thomas Keneally, author of Schindler's Ark. He now lives in Altadena, California, with his wife and two daughters.

    # vimeo.com/95365455 Uploaded 83 Plays 1 Comment
  5. Susan Miles Gulbransen, Moderator
    Lisa Lenard-Cook lisalenardcook.com, author of Find Your Story, Write Your Memoir
    Starshine Roshell starshineroshell.com, author of Wife on the Edge:and Broad Assumptions
    Jane Heller janeheller.com, author of Better Not Die or I'll Kill You
    Nora Gallagher noragallagher.org, author of Moonlight Sonata at the Mayo Clinic

    # vimeo.com/96029497 Uploaded 73 Plays 0 Comments

SBWC13

Ninety Degrees Media Plus

Videos recorded at the Santa Barbara Writers Conference 2013. Produced by Lisa Angle of Ninety Degrees Media.

Browse This Channel

Shout Box

Heads up: the shoutbox will be retiring soon. It’s tired of working, and can’t wait to relax. You can still send a message to the channel owner, though!

Channels are a simple, beautiful way to showcase and watch videos. Browse more Channels.