1. For episode 2.15, SVENNESS makes a stop at the Belgian National Cyclocross Championships, which took place at the Gaverbeek Hippodrome in Waregem, West Flanders, Belgium. The race takes place on a flat track with several flyovers and drainage ditches. It is a bit muddy and there is one long stretch of sand that plays an important role in this race.

    We focus on the sand, the planks, the attrition of an already small field and the solidification of a legend. For the Belgian elite race, only racers who have full-time contracts are allowed to compete. That means the field is only 14 deep. The elites without contracts race a minute after the full-time pros start their race.

    This episode is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer, which is available at cyclocrossbook.com.

    SVENNESS is also presented by CrossVegas. Find out more at crossvegas.com.

    SVENNESS t-shirts remain on sale at SVENNESS.com. Quantities are limited.

    Footage for this episode via Sporza: sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

    If you like the music, please purchase the track. Support the artists who liven up these episodes. Tracks for 2.15 are:

    When I'm Down~Simone Rubi: simonerubi.bandcamp.com/

    A Button on Your Blouse~The Drowners: soundcloud.com/frenchkiss_records/a-button-on-your-blouse/s-NC0Wj

    Weird Purr~Eugene Quell: eugenequell.bandcamp.com/track/weird-purr

    Tell the Teller~Toy Soldiers: soundcloud.com/toy-soldiers-1/tell-the-teller-1

    Miss Teen Massachusetts~Skaters: soundcloud.com/skaters/miss-teen-massachusetts

    Thanks for watching.

    SVENNESS and the #SVENNESS hashtag © 2014 CXHairs LLC

    # vimeo.com/84534116 Uploaded
  2. In SVENNESS episode 2.8 we visit the Hamme-Zogge stop of the Superprestige cyclocross series. It is muddy and there is a flyover at every turn. But more significant )or maybe not) Sven Nys is riding disc brakes!! But in the end, this race wasn't about disc brakes but about perseverance. Niels Albert runs into the barriers and gets turned completely around in the first 30 seconds of the race. He slowly chips away at his deficit and by the end is soon back in contention. For this race we focus on riding in the mud, the run vs. ride decision, the picket fence, and flyovers flyovers flyovers.

    Please visit cyclocrossbook.com to learn more about Skills, Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer. It's all you need to know to create your own SVENNESS on the cyclocross track. And the sale of this book helps us to continue producing these SVENNESS videos. It's a win-win.

    Also check out our shirts, socks, gloves and WTFkits watterbottles at crosshairscycling.com/shop/. The SVENNESS shirt is sold out but we are coming out with a second design shortly. So stay tuned for that.

    Music in today's episode is by:

    Flume & Chet Faker: soundcloud.com/futureclassic/flume-chet-faker-drop-the-3

    We The Wild: soundcloud.com/wethewild/daisy-may-3

    and

    Ayer: soundcloud.com/officialayer/circle-down

    Footage via Vier: vier.be/tags/cyclocross

    Thanks for watching.

    SVENNESS and the #SVENNESS hashtag are © 2013 William Schieken d/b/a CXHairs LLC

    # vimeo.com/80032039 Uploaded
  3. In #SVENNESS 2.6 we visit the Koppenbergcross, which is part of the Bpost Bank Trofee series and takes place in Oudenaarde, Belgium. This cyclocross race took on the character of a road race, and we highlight Fidea Telenet's team tactics that help put their riders in contention for the win. Also highlighted is a spectacular ride by Ian Field.

    One thing not mentioned in the video that is important to point out: There are no forced dismounts on this course and many riders stay on their bikes the whole ride. That doesn't mean it was easy, though, as these riders dealt with a brutal climb and a windy day.

    Please support #SVENNESS episodes by buying a shirt at SVENNESS.com. Also, check out our book, Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer at cyclocrossbook.com.

    Footage via Sporza. sporza.be/cm/sporza/wielrennen/veldrijden

    Music by TV on the Radio. itunes.apple.com/us/artist/tv-on-the-radio/id6562624

    Follow on Twitter @CXHairs.

    # vimeo.com/78931078 Uploaded
  4. For episode 3.7 we head to Asper-Gavere, Belgium, for the fourth round of the Superprestige series. The course is muddy and slick. Not deep mud but the kind of mud that makes every turn and every descent an adventure. It also makes riding up hills difficult. We look at how riders deal with a particularly hairy descent, the ride vs. run decision and another great example of teamwork and tactical riding.

    The episodes, as always, is presented by Skills Drills and Bellyaches: A Cyclocross Primer available at cyclocrossbook.com. Also check out SVENNESS.com for socks and shirts.

    Video for this episode is via Vier: vier.be/veldrijden

    Music in this episode:

    My Ears Are Ringing~Sama Dams: samadams.bandcamp.com/track/my-ears-are-ringing

    Give Me A Reason~Saskwatch: remotecontrol.bandcamp.com/track/give-me-a-reason

    Closer~The Effects: theeffects.bandcamp.com/album/closer-b-w-eyes-to-the-light

    Pepe Silvia~Perspective, A Lovely Hand to Hold: brokenworldmedia.bandcamp.com/track/pepe-silvia

    Heartache~Zibra: soundcloud.com/zibrazibrazibra/zibra-heartache

    Another Nice Day~Hillsides: jeffmoller.bandcamp.com/track/another-nice-day-2

    Thanks for watching.

    # vimeo.com/113424808 Uploaded

Velo

steve buhk

Browse This Channel

Shout Box

Heads up: the shoutbox will be retiring soon. It’s tired of working, and can’t wait to relax. You can still send a message to the channel owner, though!

Channels are a simple, beautiful way to showcase and watch videos. Browse more Channels.