1. 02:17:00. David Rapoport: TRIPLE ALBUM:

    This collection of music contains 18 new versions of my old, original songs. I rediscovered them years later, while (I was) listening to my portable HD audio player. While I listened, the songs sounded different to me (in context), than when I first conceived them. I used the same playlist order: to preserve the artistic integrity of this listening experience: then and now.

    For a long time. I have been inspired to make soundtrack / background music, for my own movie projects, and those of others. This is the biggest part of my: purpose / intention.

    These are mostly home-made, digital and analog sound recordings: comprised of music, vocals, sampling, ambient sounds, narrations, drone sounds, and clips. The audio quality was preserved, with very minimal changes or upgrades: in the mastering.

    Trailer: Excerpts from:

    Part (Side) 01:
    01- In that Magic: (Special thanks to Vado Diomande for his sampled drum sounds).


    Part (Side) 06:
    18- Wondering.

    It is amazing how the world can effect so many big emotions in me, and totally move me to create.

    This collection of songs is about my past. It is also about the gift. It is 100 percent: heart and soul. It is mostly from the subconscious: stream of consciousness. It is about relating in all possible ways.

    Late at night, I played my LP’s on my stereo, while watching TV, with no sound. The horizontal and vertical hold was set to distort the picture. We would listen, listen, watch, and watch.

    The songs, and visuals that I create evolve, and they are ever-changing. This is the nature of the art. There are six parts to this recording. Each part represents an album side. Six album sides make up a triple record set.

    I hope that you enjoy David Rapoport: TRIPLE ALBUM: JGD.

    Song List:

    Part (Side) 01:
    01- In that Magic (12:16): (Special thanks to Vado Diomande for his sampled drum sounds).
    02- Amazing Grace (03:24)

    Part (Side) 02:
    03- West Village Song (27:01)

    Part (Side) 03:
    04- Electric Chorale (You are the One) (05:42)
    05- Self (10:00) - (Special thanks to Toru Hoshino and Osamu Fukuzaki for sampled sounds).
    06- Song for SHIVA (Short Version) (03:45)
    07- A Prayer (05:16)

    Part (Side) 04:
    08- Anne (04:09)
    09- Hare Narayana Hare (Multi-track Version) (04:00)
    10- Hare Narayana Hare (Solo/Duet Version) (Special thanks to Deena Granowetter for playing cello on this track) (05:00)
    11- Jazz Song (15:20)

    Part (Side) 05:
    12- Just Fooling Around (02:54)
    13- Bakery Song (05:06)
    14- People (08:06)
    15- Please Forgive Me (Set You Free) (12:06)

    Part (Side) 06:
    16- Sophie (04:15)
    17- This Little Light of Mine (05:15)
    18- Wondering (03:35)

    Special thanks to: GuruDev (for His great wisdom, spirituality, and inspiration - JGD), Shelly, Robert, Charles, R. M. Fund, Laraaji, Herman, J. Uttal, Bob, Aram, Fred, Manish, John, Bobby, and George.

    © 2016 by David Rapoport. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    Uploaded 177 Plays 0 Comments
  2. 02:45. Trailer: Canaan_Dave is: Canaan (Bass), and David (Guitar). CANAAN_DAVE: is an improvised duet.

    Highline Indian Summer Session, October 21, 2015 (CANAAN DAVE):

    CANAAN comments:

    •••••I think of 'The Highline' as my backyard, as I live just a block from it. But in recent years I've stayed away from that lovely elevated park until the dwindling warm days of Autumn, when a walk in the sun becomes more precious. David and I picked a near perfect day and one of the small nooks off the main 'parade route' to set up and record. Through a happy accident, we didn't have the right cables for both of us to connect, so we decided to experiment: I'd improvise a solo bass track, then later David would improvise on guitar on top of that track. This meant that, rather than the usual give-and-take of a jam session, I had to anticipate David's playing, and David had to play around a pre-recorded improv, a different test of a musician's awareness.
    Harmony is a curious thing. There are plenty of fixed paths (modes and scales) to play around, but rhythm can free you to play any note, in or out of any mode. David's idea was for a long, free meditative journey, so as I played on, with David's verbal urging, I moved further away from my modal 'parade route' into anywhere.

    DAVE comments:

    ••••••For me, the work is all about spontaneity. It is about now: and how things fall into place. I am inspired by whatever was happening, musically, as it was happening. Each part is created in its specific time and space. In my practice, this is what creativity is all about. I always want to invent something different, something hypnotic: some other thing, something this is not a traditionally known musical form: but it somehow sounds like music. I wanted people to be drawn into it. These are sounds that brings me into a state of relaxation or meditation.

    Special thanks to GuruDev (JGD), Canaan Parker, Robert, Charles, Jai Uttal, Laraaji, Aram, Manish, and Bob. /// © 2015 by Canaan Parker and David Rapoport. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    Uploaded 93 Plays 0 Comments
  3. 00:45. SHAMAN (Vision): Trailer:

    Does television need to communicate a specific message, or point of view?

    How does one look at television? Can television be something sublime, and meditative? Can television be an experiment of visual material? What are the possibilities in this medium?

    This abstract music video is an improvisation by: Nora and David Rapoport.
    This recording: Nora had just returned to her home from Peru. She ishares her thoughts in this candid, spontaneous, unplanned an live audio recording, embellished with audio effects (later in the studio).

    In this video, I want to move and influence you by (other cultures), specifically, that of the Rain Forest, (and the Shaman’s spiritual mind).

    It is all about feelings and emotions. Go deeper. /// © 2016 by David Rapoport. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    Uploaded 64 Plays 0 Comments
  4. 01:45. CD Audio. This work is an improvised musical duet: Music_Art_Works: by Toru Hoshino (Upright Bass), and David Rapoport (Acoustic Guitar).

    The resulting recording (year: 2012) was made in two sessions, captured live in 8 parts, with the studio windows wide open (with street sounds). It is now presented as one complete work, including as a long, music video.

    Very special thanks to GuruDev, Toru, Charles, Aram, Eno, Laraaji, and Bob. JGD! /// © 2012 by David Rapoport. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    Uploaded 68 Plays 0 Comments
  5. 04:44. Filming movement of the flowers, and people, in Abingdon Square Park (New York City), in the rain: a meditation. This film is about a quiet moment.

    Special thanks to GuruDev (JGD), and Art of Living. /// © 2013 by David Rapoport. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

    # Uploaded 61 Plays 0 Comments


David Rapoport PRO

Photography, Video, Art, and Music by David Rapoport, a.k.a. Raportsky. /// ///

Browse This Channel

Shout Box

Heads up: the shoutbox will be retiring soon. It’s tired of working, and can’t wait to relax. You can still send a message to the channel owner, though!

Channels are a simple, beautiful way to showcase and watch videos. Browse more Channels.