We are proud to release the next volume of our label samplers, Volume 7. Featuring new and recent music, remixes and live tracks from Steven Wilson, TesseracT, The Receiver, Nordic Giants, Bruce Soord, Gazpacho, North Atlantic Oscillation, The Anchoress, Sweet Billy Pilgrim and Nosound.

1. Steven Wilson - My Book of Regrets (from 4½)
2. TesseracT - Messenger (from Polaris)
3. The Receiver - Transit (from All Burn)
4. Nordic Giants - Rapture (from A Séance of Dark Delusions)
5. Bruce Soord - Willow Tree (from Bruce Soord)
6. Gazpacho - Know Your Time (from Molok)
7. The Anchoress - Confessions of a Romance Novelist
(from Confessions of a Romance Novelist)
8. Sweet Billy Pilgrim - Slingshot Grin (from Motorcade Amnesiacs)
9. Nosound - I Miss the Ground (live) (from Teide 2390)

Download Volume 7 from Noisetrade now

Steven Wilson's album '4 ½', so titled because it forms an interim release between Steven’s fourth album 'Hand. Cannot. Erase.' and the next studio album is OUT NOW.

CD: smarturl.it/4_AND_A_HALF_CD
Vinyl: smarturl.it/4_AND_A_HALF_Vinyl
Blu-Ray: smarturl.it/4_AND_A_HALF_BluRay
Digital: smarturl.it/4_AND_A_HALF_DIGITAL

'4½' comprises 6 tracks with a total running time of 37 minutes. 4 of the songs originated during the sessions for 'Hand. Cannot. Erase.', and one from the recording sessions for the previous album 'The Raven that Refused to Sing'. The final track is a version of 'Don’t Hate Me', a song originally recorded by Porcupine Tree in 1998, and is based on a live recording made on the recent tour of Europe with additional recording later done in the studio. The vocals on this new version are sung as a duet between Steven and Ninet Tayeb.

Also appearing on the album are members of Steven’s band over the last few years; Adam Holzman, Nick Beggs, Guthrie Govan, Dave Kilminster, Craig Blundell, Marco Minnemann, Chad Wackerman, and Theo Travis.

4½ is released by Kscope on CD, 180 gram vinyl, and Blu-Ray, with all formats housed in a beautiful die-cut sleeve photographed by Lasse Hoile and designed by Carl Glover. The Blu-Ray (audio only) edition includes high res stereo, a 5.1 mix of the album, and a bonus 5.1 mix of the new version of 'Lazarus' (recently included on the 'Transience' vinyl compilation). The vinyl edition will include a download code for the album in a choice of FLAC or mp3. The album is also available digitally on iTunes, Amazon, Google Play & Apple Music.

# vimeo.com/152690447 Uploaded


Steven Wilson

Kscope PRO

Steven has become known for the high standard of his production and is a sought-after mixer and producer. Artists he has worked with in this capacity include the Norwegian artist Anja Garbarek, Yoko Ono, and Swedish progressive-metal band Opeth for whom…

+ More

Steven has become known for the high standard of his production and is a sought-after mixer and producer. Artists he has worked with in this capacity include the Norwegian artist Anja Garbarek, Yoko Ono, and Swedish progressive-metal band Opeth for whom he produced three albums. More recently Wilson has become known for his 5.1 Surround Sound mixes – the 2007 Porcupine Tree album Fear of a Blank Planet was nominated for a Grammy in the ‘Best Mix For Surround Sound’ category. The album was also voted #3 album of the year by Sound And Vision, which recently named Fear of a Blank Planet the second best 5.1 recording of all time. Steven is now working on several other surround sound projects, including remixing the King Crimson back catalogue. Other projects include Blackfield, a collaboration with Israeli megastar Aviv Geffen which has now produced two acclaimed albums, and Steven’s drone / ambient / experimental outlet Bass Communion.

In 2003 Wilson quietly started to release music under his own name for the first time, in the form of a series of two track CD singles on his own label Headphone Dust, each one featuring a cover version and an original SW song. The choice and treatment of the cover versions was unpredictable, with the first five featuring songs by Alanis Morissette, Abba, The Cure, Momus, and Prince. Stylistically these cover versions allowed Wilson to expand his musical pallete into everything from electronica, noise music, and stripped down acoustic balladry. This led to his decision to record his first solo album of original music.

Between January and August of 2008, Steven began recording material that would comprise this album which is titled Insurgentes. Comprising 10 new tracks that range from ballads and anthems to all-out industrial noise assaults, the dark, cinematic, and richly textured disc represents two years’ worth of creative output and numerous recording sessions worldwide in studios from Mexico City to Japan to Israel. The whole process was visually documented by film-maker Lasse Hoile, and the work in progress Insurgentes film features footage of the recording sessions, surreal sequences, and interviews with Wilson and many other musicians about what it means to be a musician in the age of iPods and download culture.

Shout Box

Heads up: the shoutbox will be retiring soon. It’s tired of working, and can’t wait to relax. You can still send a message to the channel owner, though!

Channels are a simple, beautiful way to showcase and watch videos. Browse more Channels.