Christian Smith Plus


User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Christian Smith is co-creator of new music curatorial ensemble ACADEMY. He has completed an M.M. in percussion at the McGill Schulich School of Music, where he worked with Aiyun Huang and Fabrice Marandola. Previously, he has studied with David Fishlock of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Allen Otte of Percussion Group: Cincinnati, and Matthew Duvall of eighth blackbird. He completed his Bachelor's of Music in 2012 at Oberlin College where he studied with Professor Michael Rosen.

With ACADEMY, Christian has performed in experimental settings in New York and across the Midwest. Individually, he has received fellowships to attend the Lucerne Festival Academy, MusicX and the Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice. He has also performed with the International Contemporary Ensemble and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. Recently, Christian received such recognitions as the CIRMMT (Center For Interdisciplinary Research In Music Media And Technology) Student Award and the McGill Schulich School of Music Graduate Recording Prize. He has received a Fulbright Scholarship in the form of a Swiss Government Excellence scholarship to study at the Basel Hochschule für Musik with Christian Dierstein for the 2014-15 academic year.

Smith has had the opportunity to work directly with both foundational and cutting-edge, emerging composers. Among such collaborations include those with Per Bloland, David Bird, Amy Kirsten, Hannah Lash, Josh Levine, Tom Lopez, Lewis Nielson, Steve Reich, Timothy McCormack and Rand Steiger.

Christian has worked extensively with Boston-based composer Marek Poliks for several years. Their partnership has produced an insanely virtuosic piece for melodica, a physically treacherous work for destroyed guitar, and currently an evening-length voyage for acousmatic spaceship.


  1. Gustav Englund
  2. Daryl Buckley
  3. ISSUE Project Room
  4. Ricardo Jacoby
  5. Line C3
  6. Fonema Consort
  7. hacohacodotnet
  8. Richard Haynes
  9. Eric Derr
  10. Timothy McCormack
  11. Julian vogels
  12. FAMILY
  13. Rafael Bonilla Jr.
  14. Edgar Barroso
  15. Leigh Smith
  16. -
  17. Cem Özçelik
  18. ensemble f0

+ See all 26