Christopher K. Morgan & Artists Plus


User Stats

Profile Images

User Bio

Christopher K. Morgan brings over 15 years of experience as a dancer, teacher, choreographer and arts facilitator to directing his new company. His work stems from a belief in the urgency of live performance art in an increasingly isolating, commercial, and digital world. Morgan’s choreography has been presented in 18 countries on 5 continents, in venues including The Kennedy Center (Washington DC), La Mama (New York City), Theater Artaud (San Francisco), The Maly Theatre (Moscow, Russia) the Hong Kong Cultural Center (China) and the South Lawn of the White House.

In April 2011, he was profiled as one of six breakout choreographers by Dance Magazine.

Morgan served as Choreographer in Residence and Rehearsal Director for Washington, DC based CityDance Ensemble from 2007-2011, where he was commissioned to create 6 original works and stage a major reconstruction. His 2010 work +1/-1, was hailed as “exquisitely athletic…the kind of crooked choreography where the simple quiver of fingertips is enough to spark goose bumps” ( and subsequently won the 2010 Dance Metro DC award for Outstanding New Work.

Morgan has directed and facilitated the Dance Omi International Dance Collective since 2005, an annual three-week residency for professional, international dancer/choreographers that takes place in New York. From 2005 until 2008 he also founded and directed his New York City based pick up group, Muse.

Morgan is currently on faculty at American University in Washington DC. Previous teaching credits include Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts, Shawbrook (Ireland), Iwanson Schule (Munich),Towson University (Maryland), Stephens College (Missouri), Western Kentucky University and University of Idaho among many others. He has lectured for New York City Ballet’s Education Department, Dance Theater Workshop, served as a panelist to the National Endowment for the Art and adjudicated the 2010 National ACDFA Gala at the Kennedy Center.

External Links


  1. Eun Jung Choi