Vivian

Vivian

Hi I am new to vimeo and would like to also ask people over here if they can recommend a certain camera for a beginner like me. The thing is I have a restricted budget of 3000 euros and don't have anything ...except for my mac and that's it. I know I need a professional camera to learn the basics and quite frankly I'd rather spend my money on a good camera and than buy the rest of the stuff like separate mic and editing software. Can anyone point me towards the right direction?
Thanks a lot.

Perrone Ford

Perrone Ford

Vivian,

It would be helpful if you could provide just a bit more informatin.

1. What country are you in?

2. What kind of video do you plan to shoot? Weddings? Sports? Movies? The camera recommendation will hinge on this somewhat.

3. Which Mac do you have? If it's an older model, that will restrict not only what editing software you can use, but also what kind of information can come from the camera and be useable by that Mac.

If you don't have your heart set on getting into HD right away, some very good possibilities open up to you in terms of cameras. It's also somewhat important to understand whether you are planning to pursue this as a future career, just a hobby, or are just going to video the kids.

In general, to do decent video you need:

1. A camera
2. A decent tripod
3. A solid microphone
4. A computer with editing software

The more serious you are about this, the more manual features you camera should have. And the more you should approach this beginning with the end in mind.

Vivian

Vivian