pranav manandhar

pranav manandhar

hi guys,
well i'm a total newbie in capturing video! I don't own a camcorder and i was planning to get one.

I love photography and i was thinking of trying stuff in video too. I was wondering what would be a good cam for me, under $1000? I don't need professional high end cameras, just a hd camcorder with manual support in it will do.

One question, are DSLR video feature better than that of consumer camcorder like Canon HV30? I mean dslr allows to set aperture and shutter speed and even change them while shooting but does consumer cameras allow to do that??

And i heard dslr cameras' image stabalizer is noo good at all. is that true?
How does Canon HV30 compete with Canon 500d??

Please help me guys.

Egg Media UK

Egg Media UK Plus

If you want a good HD consumer camcorder - pretty basic but does have some manual controls, take a look at the Canon HG21 - great shooter with good HD quality.

If you're a newbie to filmmaking that is a great way to go before leaping straight to the bigger toys like DSLR's. I personally think it's best to get a good grounding and knowledge behind you in the art of filmmaking before experiementing with DSLR's like the canon 7D 5D etc. This will probably confuse you completely consider you say you are relatively new to caputuring footage.

Something like the HG21, HV20, HV30 etc is a great place to start and you can still acheive some cracking results but these sort of cameras lack the full manual controls such as focus, appeture, shutter speed and ISO that these DSLR's offer.

Also looking at your budget, it doesn't look like you can afford to stretch as far as a DSLR which is probably a good thing as mentioned by the above points.

Also it would be a huge waste of money to leap straight to something so different from a generic video camera as you state "you were thinking of trying stuff in video too" which suggests to me you're experimenting at the moment with your interests.