H.A.N.D. Productions

H.A.N.D. Productions

Hi there, I'm finally moving from you big, beautiful hdv camera with a fixed lens to a canon 60d dslr and have taken note that lenses are pivotal to getting the look you want with interchangeable lens cameras.

I'm looking for guidance as to if these lenses would complement each other in the way that I am expecting them to or if I should adjust my strategy in any way.

I am a narrative filmmaker who wants operate in low light situations a lot in the future.

Right now I am planning on buying these three lenses in addition to the 18-135 f/3.5-5.6 kit lens, on a budget of $1000:

Wide angle: Samyang 14mm Ultra Wide-Angle f/2.8

Normal (for my cropped sensor camera): Canon Wide Angle EF 35mm f/2.0

Low light / Telephoto workhorse (for my cropped sensor camera): Canon Normal EF 50mm f/1.4

matt wolfe [cc]

matt wolfe [cc] Plus

The samyang 14mm f2.8 is okay, but I rarely pull that out for anything on my crop sensor body (sometimes for my full frame body. Maybe consider the samyang/rokinon 24mm f1.4 instead.

I use the Canon 24mm f1.4 as the go-to lens on my crop sensor body. (That's out of your budget, which is why the samyang/ rokinon version might work for you). And I recommend that only because your "low light" option is essentially an 80mm lens, and if you're in a small room, that won't work.

H.A.N.D. Productions

H.A.N.D. Productions

Thanks for the info. I hadn't even seen these 24mm's in my 2-3 days of lens obsession.

If I were to go with a 23mm samyang then I'd have to "move down" on one of my other lenses to compensate for the price.

The most logical choice would be to go with a 50mm 1.8 (nifty fifty) instead of a 1.4: any objection there? is the image/build quality close enough between the two to get away with that downgrade?

If it's all the same to you may I ask why you rarely ever use your samyang 14mm on your crop bodies?

H.A.N.D. Productions

H.A.N.D. Productions