Rick Mansfield

Rick Mansfield Plus

I received a message yesterday from another Vimeo user that asked my permission to use clips of my videos for Buzzfeed. While I'm flattered, I can't help but think that this my be a scam. The message came from the account of "Matthew Gustafson" ( vimeo.com/user20638452 ) but the message purports to be from Becky Harris. The account has only been active one day and there are no videos. This smells like a scam to me.

Anyone know anything? Here is the message below:

Matthew Gustafson 13 hours ago
Hello,
My name is Becky Harris and I'm a producer working for BuzzFeed Video.
you can check out our work at youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo
I am currently working on a motivational video for BuzzFeed and I love your clips!
I was wondering if I could have permission to use some parts? We would provide credit in the description of the video and link back to your page.
Thank you for your time and consideration and I look forward to hearing back from you!
Best,
Becky

Mark

Mark Staff

Unfortunately I cannot provide any advice for you. If you feel it may be a scam, then I would not answer it.

Mikey Perry

Mikey Perry Staff

As Mark said, Staff can't provide any advice for you other than to use your best judgement.

You can find some other advice from a fellow Vimeo user below.

Lucky 13 Studios / Joseph Dunphy

"Unfortunately I cannot provide any advice for you."

But I can. Let's do a Google search under that pair of names, and see what we find.

google.com/search?q="Matthew Gustafson" "Becky Harris"