Avi Flax

Avi Flax

Hi, I'm a total beginner with video, and I have a project that I'd like to start: interviewing my wife's grandparents about their experiences during the Holocaust.

I thought I'd use my Canon HF100, but during some test shots, my wife's face was a little distorted — it was a little wider than in real life. I'm concerned that there's something about the lens of this camera that's leading to a less-than-natural perspective.

This is beyond the scope of my expertise at this point, but I know I've read that different focal lengths distort proportions in different ways. In still cameras, I've read that a focal length of 80–90mm (35mm equiv) is preferred for "portraits".

Looking at the stats of the HF100, the focal length ranges from 42–514mm (35mm equiv) — which makes me think that I should be able to get a zoom level around 80–90mm, which theoretically, I'd guess, would give me natural results. Since the camera has no precise focal length indicator, however, I'm not sure how to do this, except perhaps by guessing and trial and error, which seems… iffy.

Also, in my test shots, I was zoomed way in… I'd say maybe 350–450mm, guesstimating. Shouldn't the proportions at those focal lengths have been decent?

I did some test shots with my DSLR, with a 50mm lens, which with my APS-C sensor has about an 85mm equivalent — it's supposedly near-perfect as a "portrait lens". Those shots came out nearly perfect — so there's at least *something* to all this focal length stuff. I'm just not sure if there's a problem with the HF100 itself, or how I'm using it.

I'm hoping someone might be able to give me some guidance here, on:

(1) am I thinking accurately about focal lengths?

(2) might the HF100 be capable of achieving accurate, attractive, and natural-looking proportions of interview subjects?