familiehz

familiehz

Will there be a upload function for flv files, maybe it's easier for you and for us, because you don't need to convert video files than, maybe this is a good alternative?

Soxiam

Soxiam Staff

we do not accept .flv format. in the past it lead to people posting other people's videos they found on other videosharing web sites as their own.

Ultra

Ultra

So flv uploading === stealing content? That's like profiling middle easterns as terrorists! Sort it out ...

Ultra

Ultra

Problem - "we have problems with people uploading others content"
Solution - "ban flv"
Why is that not unilateral?

Soxiam

Soxiam Staff

illegitimate content is one of the problems with allowing flv uploads. i think you took my statement too literally.

Ultra

Ultra

Don't get me wrong, Vimeo is a great service, but being a Flash developer I have legitimate reasons for using flv - I might be passed flvs used in a project that I never encoded myself, so dont have avi/mov source.

Watch Systems

Watch Systems

Right, not allowing flv video files for upload on a flv video player site has to be one of the most backwards development ideas I have ever seen...??? Seriously, what is the deal here?

Bez

Bez

Agreed, we would very much appreciate an FLV upload
possibility

ty for the site btw :)

Sovandara

Sovandara

I add to the desire to be able to upload .flv I'm using Blip.tv now but would switch to Vimeo if I could upload my own .flv files. If people want to publish others content, they will do it whether they are in .flv or not.

Andris Krastiņš

Andris Krastiņš

Not really, this makes it harder and takes a lot time. I imagine many are too lazy for reconverting.

Vipin Chandran

Vipin Chandran

Even I was surprised to see NO FLV on your site. It was my first day at Vimeo, and disappointed with this. I have my content as FLV. I got it as FLV (seminar recording) as the guy who recorded said its better be in FLV, if its for sharing on the web.