Derek Davis

Derek Davis

I wasn't sure where to post this comment, but I figured that editing and computers go hand-in-hand.
I am in dire need of some advice. With the recent upgrade to the macbook pro, I am stumped on which model to buy. I am a filmmaker, and of course, I need a nice machine to help me edit. From my understanding, the latest macbook pro can not be upgraded or modified after purchase, but it's retina display could potentially help me with how the edit looks (and its beauty:), and it offers an hdmi out which would be really simple to hook up an external monitor (in case I need a reference or anything else.) But on the flip side, the older model macbooks were upgraded with the latest processor and graphic cards as well, and it helps that they are not as expensive. They also will allow easier repairs and upgrades if necessary, but I am planning on buying either model with 8 gbs of ram. I can't imagine needing any more on a laptop.
What are your opinions or advice on the matter? I am leaning more towards the new retina display model, but I am terrified that something will go wrong. Then I will have to pay full price for another one.
Regardless of which macbook pro that I get, it will be incredible, and I am grateful that I am even getting one. I am going to college this upcoming fall, and I could not be more thankful to my amazing parents.

SlowBow

SlowBow Plus